Official 2011 Philippine Holidays


We can now proceed on planning our 2011 out-of-town trips with the Malacañang announcement of holidays for next year.

President Benigno Simeon Aquino III signed Proclamation 84 on December 20, 2010, declaring regular holidays, special non-working holidays, and special school holidays for 2011. The proclamation is in line with Republic Act 9492, which provides that all non-religious holidays be moved to the nearest Monday (though none of the non religious holidays has been moved so far based on the proclamation).

Regular Holidays
New Year’s Day – January 1 (Saturday)
Araw ng Kagitingan – April 9 (Saturday)
Maundy Thursday – April 21
Good Friday – April 22
Labor Day – May 1 (Sunday)
Independence Day – June 12 (Sunday)
National Heroes Day – August 29 (Last Monday of August)
Bonifacio Day – November 30 (Wednesday)
Christmas Day – December 25 (Sunday)
Rizal Day – December 30 (Friday)

Special (Non-Working) Days
Ninoy Aquino Day – August 21 (Sunday)
All Saints Day – November 1 (Tuesday)
Last Day of the Year – December 31 (Saturday)

Special School Holiday
EDSA Revolution Anniversary – February 25 (Friday)

Meanwhile, the Palace said proclamations declaring national holidays for the observance of the end of Ramadan (Eid’l Fitr) and the Feast of the Sacrifice (Eid’l Adha) shall be issued after the approximate dates of the Islamic holidays have been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar (Hijra) or upon Islamic astronomical calculations, whichever is possible or convenient. The National Commission on Muslim Filipinos will inform the Office of the President on which days the holidays shall fall. But unofficially, based on estimates and assumptions, Eid’l Fitr will fall on August 30 (Tuesday), while the Eid’l Adha will fall on November 6 (Sunday).

*Reference: Proclamation No. 84 (