Lake Sebu

Perched in the highlands of South Cotabato is the town of Lake Sebu, home to the indigenous T’boli and Ubo tribes and an emerging eco-tourism and adventure destination in Southern Mindanao. Known for its majestic waterfalls, lakes, rivers and springs, and with its rich biodiversity and culture, Lake Sebu is starting to hit big in the tourism landscape of the region. Its main attractions include Lake Sebu, the biggest of the three lakes that dot the town and an important watershed in the region being…Continue Reading “Lake Sebu: Travel Guide, How to Get There, Where to Stay, Activities & More”

Cagayan de Oro

Cagayan de Oro City is the capital of the Province of Misamis Oriental. Dubbed as the “City of Golden Friendship”, it is one of the safest and most progressive cities in this part of the Philippines. A place where adventure, nature and city living intersect in a rich blend of diverse culture and art. Cagayan de Oro, popularly called Cagayan or CDO, is home to more than half a million inhabitants. It is the white water rafting capital of the country, and a shopping, educational…Continue Reading “Cagayan de Oro: Travel Guide, How to Get There, Where to Stay, Activities & Other Tips!”


Siargao, a small and unassuming island off the coast of Surigao del Norte, is one of Mindanao’s prized destinations. Famed for its surfing spot named “Cloud 9”, the island is increasingly becoming popular to local and foreign tourists, surfers and non-surfers alike. Siargao Island is the biggest landmass in the island group of the same name. The entire island group is composed of nine municipalities including Socorro, where Bucas Grande Islands or Sohoton Cove is located. The other eight municipalities are located in mainland Siargao….Continue Reading “Siargao Island: Travel Guide, How to Get There, Where to Stay, Activities & Other Tips!”


Nested in the Northern Mindanao is a pear-shaped volcanic island of Camiguin, roughly 100 kilometers north of Cagayan de Oro City in Misamis Oriental. Camiguin Island is said to be created by volcanic eruptions and land movements, thus the moniker “Island Born of Fire”. It has a total of seven volcanoes including Mount Hibok-Hibok, an active one with last recorded eruption in 1953. Another famous landmark of Camiguin is “White Island“, a sandbar northwest of mainland, approximately two kilometers off the shore of Barangay Yumbing, Mambajao. White…Continue Reading “Camiguin Island: Travel Guide, How to Get There, Where to Stay, Itinerary & Other Tips”

Cotabato City

Did you know that Cotabato City doesn’t belong to the Province of Cotabato nor South Cotabato? It actually, politically and geographically belongs to Maguindanao Province. Apparently, the city’s geopolitical location is as complicated as its history, culture and reputation. A city clouded with fear, and living in the stigma of its history and impression. A place struggling to move away from its own shadow. But the truth is, like other Mindanaoan City, Cotabato is typically diverse, multicultural and generally peaceful. As the provincial capital of…Continue Reading “Travel Guide: Cotabato City”


In the southernmost tip of the Philippine archipelago is a cluster of 107 islands and islets scattered over Sulu and Celebes Seas, closer to Malaysia than the nearest Philippine city of Zamboanga. But is not your usual tourists destination for it is enveloped by the ghost of its reputation, portraying a negative image of the place and casting fear to everyone unfamiliar with the place! Tawi-Tawi! A predominantly Muslim province, Tawi-Tawi used to be part of the province of Sulu until 1973 when it was separated…Continue Reading “Travel Guide: Tawi-Tawi”