Komisyon sa Wikang Filipino (KWF) issued Resolution 13-19 Series of 2013 renaming the Filipino official name of the Philippines from “Pilipinas” to “Filipinas”. The resolution was signed on April 12, 2013 by ten Commissioners of KWF headed by National Artist for Literature Virgilio Almario. Here is the complete text of the resolution. ———————————————————————————————————————————————————-  Republika ng Filipinas KOMISYON SA WIKANG FILIPINO Gusaling Watson, 1610 Kalye J.P. Laurel, Malacañang Complex, Maynila KAPASIYAHAN NG KALUPUNAN NG MGA KOMISYONER BLG. 13-19 SERYE NG 2013 PINAGTITIBAY ANG KAPASIYAHAN NA PAGBABALIK…Continue Reading “‘Filipinas’ not ‘Pilipinas’?”

Philippine Fireworks China’s Liuyang Jinsheng Fireworks, Co. was hailed as the Grand Champion in the final night of the Second Philippine International Pyromusical Competition, with United Kingdom’s Jubilee Fireworks and Japan’s Tamaya Kitahara Fireworks, Co., placing first and second respectively. It was a night of great weather, celebration and amazing fireworks display with Fireworx of Australia and Platinum Fireworks Incorporated of the Philippines’ shows of captivating night light. Australia, the last contestant to perform shoot their best lights only to be shadowed out by the…Continue Reading “Final Night of Second Philippine International Pyromusical Competition”


We can now proceed on planning our 2011 out-of-town trips with the Malacañang announcement of holidays for next year. President Benigno Simeon Aquino III signed Proclamation 84 on December 20, 2010, declaring regular holidays, special non-working holidays, and special school holidays for 2011. The proclamation is in line with Republic Act 9492, which provides that all non-religious holidays be moved to the nearest Monday (though none of the non religious holidays has been moved so far based on the proclamation). Regular Holidays New Year’s Day…Continue Reading “Official 2011 Philippine Holidays”

Airphil Express is having another round of their Express Sale, this time travel on January 15, 2011 to February 28, 2011. The 2-day sale starts May 19 and ends on May 20, 2010. Avail of a one-way domestic seat for as low as P199 for the following flights: From Manila to Busuanga (Coron), Calbayog, Catarman, Masbate, Naga,  Masbate, Naga, Ormoc, San Jose (Mindoro), Surigao and Tuguegarao or vice versa From Cebu to Bacolod, Cagayan de Oro, Iloilo and Tacloban or vice versa From Busuanga to…Continue Reading “AirphilExpress 2011 Seat Sale”

2009 WORLD PYRO OLYMPICS IS POSTPONED! Official Statement of the Organizing Committee: The Executive Committee of the World Pyro Olympics (WPO) 09 announces the postponement of the WPO originally set on November 28, December 5, 12 and 19, at the Bonifacio Global City to a later date early next year. The incessant rains and flooding during the past months have rendered the firing area almost unfit for pyrotechnics launchings which have certain international standards to observe. The participating countries have thus agreed to postpone the…Continue Reading “2009 World Pyro Olympics (Postponed)”


For those who missed the Cinemalaya Films screenings in Cultural Center of the Philippines, here’s your chance to catch them again. The UP Cineastes’ Studio in partnership with the UP Film Institute presents Cinemalaya Goes UP 5. Featuring the competing films of Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival, this is a yearly event after the much attended showings at CCP. It will run from July 28 to 31, and August 3 to 4 at CineAdarna of UP Film Institute. Schedule: July 28, Tuesday: 5:00 pm – Engkwentro…Continue Reading “Cinemalaya Cinco at UP Film Institute”